Since the establishment of the TAGA Student Chapters in 1985, student chapters have produced technical publications to showcase their student research, and starting in 1993, the TAGA Board of Directors has awarded a Grand Prize Award to recognize their efforts in producing their TAGA Student Publications. Renamed in 2006 as the Helmut Kipphan Cup (after Dr. Helmut Kipphan—for his time, support, and advocacy of the TAGA Student Chapters), the award is now a traveling trophy that is presented to the school that has produced a Student Publication that excels in technical content, print quality, and design. In addition, several Special Recognition Awards will be presented to schools that have proven their abilities in these individual areas. An additional “Attendees’ Choice” award will be given to the school that receives the most votes from all conference attendees.

The student publication is intended to be a collection of student research in the associated areas of graphic technology. Any institution with an active TAGA student chapter is encouraged to participate.

2013 Award Winner

Grenoble Institute of Technology

Student Publication Special Recognition

  • Best in Technical Writing – Clemson University
  • Best in Publication Design – Ryerson University
  • Best in Production Quality – Clemson University
  • Best in Overall Quality – Clemson University
  • Attendee’s Choice – Appalachian State University

Previous Winners

For more information on on the Helmut Kipphan Student Publication Award, Click Here.

*Active student membership is required for submission in competitions or exhibition.
If there are any questions, please contact or 412-259-1706.